top of page

Announcements

Weather Policy

for the District and

County Courts-at-Law

In the event of hazardous weather, the Lubbock County District and County Courts-at-Law will follow the Lubbock Independent School District (LISD) delay and closure schedule, plus allow an additional 30 minutes before hearings and trials begin. For example, if LISD delays start until 9am, the District and County Courts-at-Law will delay the start of hearings and trials until 9:30am.

 

The Lubbock County District and County Courts-at-Law recognize the need to accommodate court employees, the legal community and jurors by allowing them to get their children and students to school and daycare safely.

 

Attorneys should visit with each individual court for specific questions about rescheduling hearings.

For questions concerning this release, please contact Dean Stanzione, Director of Court Administration, at dstanzione@lubbockcounty.gov or 806.775.1360.

*Provided on behalf of Lubbock County Office of Court Administration

Lubbock County
District Clerk's Office -
Updated Fees

Pursuant to SB 1612, which was passed during the 88thlegislative session, fees will be changing for the following according to Texas Family Code §110.002 beginning on 1/1/24:

  1. Suit for Modification - $95 (currently $30)*

  2. Motion for Enforcement - $95 (currently $30)*

  3. Notice of Application for Judicial Writ of Withholding - $80 (currently $15)

  4. Petition for License Suspension - $80 (currently $15)

  5. Motion to Revoke a Stay of License Suspension - $80 (currently $15)

  6. Motion for Contempt - $80 (currently $15)

 

A motion to transfer has been repealed. There will now be no fee for a motion to transfer a case out of Lubbock County in any code, effective 1/1/24. (Tex. Fam. Code $110.005)

 

The filing fee for a case being transferred to Lubbock County will be raised from $45 to $80, effective 1/1/24. (Tex. Fam. Code §110.005(a))

 

*The family code states that the fees are changing from $15 to $80 for modifications and enforcements; however, with the DRO fee of $15 in Lubbock County (Tex. Fam. Code §110.006 & §203.005), the total fee will be changing from the current amount of $30 to $95.

 

If you have any questions, please contact the District Clerk’s Office.

 

Again, this will take effect on January 1, 2024.

Thank you!

Sara L. Smith 

District Clerk

Lubbock County

*Provided on behalf of the Lubbock County District Clerk's Office

Lubbock County Clerk's Office -
Updated Recording Fees

“Please take note: effective Jan 1st, 2024 recording fees for the 1st pg of each doc will be reduced by $1 ($25 1st pg, $4 each addtl)"

 

- Lubbock County Clerk's Office

*Provided on behalf of the Lubbock County Clerk's Office

Lubbock County District Clerk's Office -
Jury Fee

As of now, the District Clerk’s Office will be charging a $10 jury fee for all jury requests. According to Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 216(b) – “Unless otherwise provided by law, a fee of ten dollars if in the district court and five dollars if in the county court must be deposited with the clerk of the court within the time for making a written request for a jury trial. The clerk shall promptly enter a notation of the payment of such fee upon the court’s docket sheet.”

 

There is now a fee option in e-filing should a jury be requested. Please choose this fee to avoid rejection of the jury request. Contact the District Clerk if you have any questions. Thank you!

 

Sara L. Smith 

District Clerk

Lubbock County

*Provided on behalf of the Lubbock County District Clerk's Office

Domestic Relations Office
-
Announcement

ATTN Family Law Attorneys----we need your help---

Orders and decrees requiring parties to utilize the Domestic Relations Office (DRO) for supervised visitation and/or child support community supervision services, often lack the DRO’s contact information. Consequently, the involved parties do not know where to report for these services.

Please include the DRO’s contact information in any document seeking judicial approval.

After the applicable order or decree is signed, provide the DRO with a cause number so that any reporting requirements for the court can commence.

Have questions? Please contact Gene Valentini @ 806 775 1720 or odr@lubbockcounty.gov

bottom of page